Search This Blog

Monday, May 31, 2010

Allen Brothers - Clara's Boys (1982)

The Allen Brothers on this recording, three brothers, should not be confused with the Allen Brothers, a pair of brothers, who were active in the 1920s and 30s. A number of sources mididentify this recording as one by the older Allen brothers. I can find very little about the Allen Brothers on this recording, except that they released three albums: Sweet Rumors (1977), Are You Feeling It Too? (1980), and the present album, Clara's Boys (1982).

These guys make traditional country music with a dose of blugrass. I can't put my finger on it, but their choice of songs is unique and makes listening to this recording a bit of an adventure. A few of the songs are covers, including the last song, "Blue Eyed Darlin'," by Roy Acuff, but most appear to be originals. This is the kind of stuff you'd expect from Rounder Records and is a nice discovery. Too bad it's now out of print. Hope you enjoy it.

  • Harley Allen Guitar, Mandolin, Lead and Tenor Vocals
  • Greg Allen Banjo, Lead and Baritone Vocals
  • Ronnie Allen Electric Bass, Lead and Baritone Vocals
  • Buddy Griffin Fiddle
  • Danny Milhoun Dobro
  • Rick Stacy Mandolin
  • Larry Nager Acoustic Bass
  • Allen Eiseman Fiddle on "Louise" with Rick Stacy and the Allen Brothers
Track List:
  1. Is It True
  2. The Girl And The Dreadful Snake
  3. The Way I Am
  4. How Come You Do Me Like You Do
  5. Suzanne
  6. Dream
  7. Send Me Your Address From Heav
  8. Louise
  9. Where Do The Good Times Go
  10. Blue Eyed Darlin'
Download Links: Enjoy the Music, or here.

1 comment:

  1. I was just suffering and found this. nice to hear after all these years.....thanks

    Greg Allen