Search This Blog

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Alien Planetscapes - Life On Earth (1997)

Psychadelic/Space Rock is the best way to describe this recording. The group is Doug Walker's brainchild and the music is heavily influenced by Tangerine Dream and Ash Ra Temple on the one hand, but with its heavy free jazz elements it also at times approaches music like Gong and Soft Machine. This is Alien Planetscape's only "commercial" release and it is currently out of print. Many other recordings are floating around among fans, but Doug Walker died in 2006, thus ending his career.

Line-up / Musicians
  • Matthew Block / drums, percussion, effects
  • Chris Altenhoff / bass guitars, effects, electronics
  • Blaise Slwula / alto and soprano saxes, CB radio, effects
  • Rob Alfonso / guitars, devices, effects
  • Doug Walker / synthesizers, sequencers, organ, electric keyboards, effects

 Track List:
  1. Radiation King (5:01)
  2. Chris In Space (9:15)
  3. Gravel (8:30)
  4. Love Shack Radio (5:07)
  5. Soft Martian (11:13)
  6. Lucky 13 (8:19)
Download Link: Enjoy the Music!


  1. Man, do I miss that bald bastard. Let me tell you.

  2. It's a shame his music is so damn hard to find now! (Btw this link is dead)