Search This Blog

Thursday, February 4, 2010

The 77s - Ping Pong Over the Abyss (1995)

This is the first recording by the 77s and was originally released in 1983. The version here is from the re-issued CD version from 1995 which contains bonus tracks, mostly demos and live recordings. It was also re-issued as part of a 3-disc set of the 77s' first three albums in 1995. Looks like this is due for another re-issue as it is now out of print.

This has never been my favorite 77s album, but nevertheless it has a certain charm to it. The beginnings of what was to comne later are here. The songs range from more or less typical bluesy CCM to new wave Christian rock somewhat in the vein of Daniel Amos.

The title comes from Allen Ginsberg's poem "Howl," section 3: "I'm with you in Rockland/where you scream in a straight jacket that you're losing the game of the actual ping pong of the abyss."


Ping Pong Over the Abyss
Seventy Sevens
1982 - Exit

  • Jan Eric: Bass, Guitars, Background Vocals
  • Tom Goodeluinas: Vocals
  • Larry Hirsch: Engineer, Mixed, Percussion
  • Chris MacDonald: Vocals
  • G. Mascoli: Songwriter
  • Mary Neely: Executive Producer
  • Washington Phillips: Songwriter
  • Mark Proctor: Songwriter, Drums, Vocals
  • Michael Roe: Songwriter, Guitars, Vocals
  • Steven Soles: Producer, Songwriter, Vocals
  • Mark Tootle: Songwriter, Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
  • Daryl Zachman: Engineer
 Track List:
  1. A Different Kind of Light'
  2. How Can You Love
  3. It's So Sad
  4. Falling Down A Hole
  5. Someone New written w/Gene Mascoli
  6. Renaissance Man
  7. Ping Pong Over The Abyss
  8. Time Is Slipping Away written w/Gene Mascoli
  9. Denomination Blues (That's All)
  10. A Different Kind Of Light (Live)
  11. How Can You Love (4 - Track Demo)
  12. It's So Sad (Live)
  13. Falling Down A Hole (Live)
  14. Ping Pong Over The Abyss (4 - Track Demo)
  15. Denomination Blues (Live)

Download Link: Link removed at request of owner. Now available at Ping Pong Over the Abyss

Other Recordings by The 77s: 


  1. Claox,

    I'm not sure where else to contact you on your blog, so I'm giving this a shot before I contact Blogger for assistance. Please remove all 77s material from your blog. Not only is the bulk of this music available for purchase worldwide via iTunes, Amazon, and Emusic, several of the titles are still available on CD directly from Further, all material is owned by Mike Roe himself, and is licensed by my record label, Lo-Fidelity Records. Mike continues to record and tour, and we have further plans to return most, if not all of his music, on CD within the next 2 years. We appreciate your support and cooperation in removing the titles you have posted on your blog.

    Jeffrey Kotthoff
    Lo-Fidelity Records

  2. Thank you for contacting me. I always want to point people to where they can get the music when it becomes available. I knew re-release of much of the 77s catalog was imminent, but had not yet realized it was out. I still have all this stuff on vinyl, BTW.

    I will remove the recording and point people to where they can buy the music. If you have a preferred link, please post it.



  3. Thanks Bryan, much appreciated. I think for now, the preferred link or store would be to send people to for CD's, and iTunes for downloads. Thanks again, and please know we do appreciate the continued support and interest in Mike Roe and the 77s.

    jeffrey k.
    lo-fidelity records